Student Support Services

Parent Handbook

To provide annual notification to students, parents and guardians of their rights and responsibilities pertaining to their child’s education. Please read this Annual Notification.

The Student Support Services Department works with parents and students to provide programs in the district which result in the completion of a high school diploma, High School Equivalency Certificate or CHSPE. We provide support, oversight, and services in the following areas:

  • Section 504 
  • Alternative programs Support and Placement  
  • Foster Youth and McKinney-Vento (homeless) services and supports
  • Expulsions and Discipline
  • Oversight and processing of expulsions
  • Intra-District and Inter-District transfer requests
  • Districtwide MTSS programs and oversight
  • Support and oversight of districtwide teams: District Medical Team, ASB and Oxnard District Council, School Resource Officers, District Safety Team, PBIS cohort, Counselors, Mentor Counselors, and MTSS meetings
  • CIF compliance
  • Home and Hospital Teaching  and Independent Study Short Term (short term independent studies)
  • Legislative oversight and update in relation to district board policy and education codes
  • Community-Based Organization oversight and support
  • TUPE grant oversight and support
  • Title IX 

Contact Us

James Koenig
Director of Student Support Services

District McKinney-Vento, Foster, Title IX, and CIF compliance Liaison
Telephone: 805-394-4690
Email: james.koenig@oxnardunion.org

Maribel Ipatzi
Director’s Secretary 
Email: maribel.ipatzi@oxnardunion.org
Telephone: 805-385-2552

Ray Gonzales
Coordinator Child Welfare
Telephone: 805-385-2510
Email: ray.gonzales@oxnardunion.org

Julissa Vazquez
Student Services Assistant
(Clerical III)
Telephone: 805-486-6487
Email: julissa.vazquez@oxnardunion.org

Carrie Wolfe
LDC PBIS
Telephone: 805-278-3082
Email: carrie.wolfe@oxnardunion.org

Tom Lawrence
High School Equivalency Program (HSEP) Teacher
Telephone: 805-486-6487
Email: tom.lawrence@oxnardunion.org