Oxnard Yearbook named Crown Finalist

Students are posing for photo.
Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin

The 2010-2011 Cardinal and Gold Yearbook Staff

The 2010-2011 Oxnard High School’s Cardinal and Gold Yearbook staff was named a Crown Finalist by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association. In March it will be announced whether they win a Silver or Gold Crown.

Press Release
Congratulations to the print publications who are finalists for the 2012 Crown Awards. All print publications listed below will receive either a Silver or Gold Crown.
A total of 1,351 newspapers, magazines and yearbooks published during the 2010-2011 academic year were eligible for judging in the 2012 Crown Awards Program.
The print entries were judged at Columbia University on December 17-19, 2011. The online entries will be judged in January 2012.

Scholastic Crown Award finalists will be presented with either a Gold or Silver Crown Award during CSPA’s 88th Annual Convention, held from March 14-16, 2012 at Columbia University.

The Awards Convocation for Scholastic Crown recipients will take place on Friday, March 16, 2012 in the Roone Arledge Auditorium of the Alfred Lerner Student Center on Columbia’s Morningside Heights campus. Gold Crowns have been awarded annually since 1982, and Silver Crowns have been given since 1984.

Edmund J. Sullivan, executive director of the CSPA, will present plaques to those winners attending the Convention. Remaining awards will be mailed beginning March 26th.

The CSPA is an international student press association uniting student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges and award programs. Owned by Columbia University since 1925 and operated as a program associated with its Graduate School of Journalism, the Association offers three major services: 1–annual competitions and awards for members, including the Crown Awards, 2–planning two conventions (one national, one regional) and a week-long summer workshop at Columbia, plus 3–small press publishing activities to support magazine articles published as part of its website and one to two books per year.

The judging panel included: Nancy Hastings, retired adviser, Highland, IN; Bobby Hawthorne, writer and writing instructor, Austin TX; Sean Kelly, visual journalist and illustrator, Fairfield, CT; Mark Murray, coordinator of technology systems, Arlington Independent School District, Arlington, TX; Cheryl Pell faculty member at the Michigan State University School of Journalism in East Lansing, MI; Jessica Rodriguez, multi-media editor, Union City, NJ; Randy Stano, professor, University of Miami, Miami, FL; C. Bruce Watterson, chief communications officer, The Darlington School, Rome, GA; and Randy Yeip is a graphics editor, New York, NY; Kathleen Zwiebel, retired adviser, Pottsville, PA.

Share this post with your friends

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email