Scorpions, Spartans feel the love from Pacific View coaches

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
The Pacific View League announced its all-league selections for high school spring sports.

Multiple Camarillo and Rio Mesa student-athletes were honored by PVL coaches. They are listed below:


Shelbie Franc of Camarillo is the Player of the Year in softball. Franc helped the Scorpions win a CIF-Southern Section Division 2 championship this spring.

Teammate Sarah Shadinger is Pitcher of the Year, while longtime ACHS skipper Jack Willard is Coach of the Year.

First team: Camarillo’s Hayley Chamberlain, Kristie Dederick, Jenna King and Bianca Noriega; and Rio Mesa’s Samantha Blemker and Alison Stymacher.

Second team: Camarillo’s Chase Robledo; and Ashley Baca, Julie Castro, Brianna Cervantez and Mikayla Phillips of Rio Mesa.

Honorable mention: Camarillo’s Amy Anderson, Alexis Flores and Natalie Noriega; and Danette Amar, Alexis Mariscal and Madison Wolfe of Rio Mesa.


Camarillo’s Taylor Hansen is the Pacific View League’s baseball Player of the Year.

Fellow Scorpion Hunter Virant is Pitcher of the Year.

Camarillo’s Richard Jaquez is Coach of the Year.

First team: Camarillo’s Justin Chamberlain, Kenny Overly and Michael Martinez; and Casey Rodriguez and Daniel Lerma of Rio Mesa.

Second team: Camarillo’s Parker Hindle and Aaron Martinez; and Rio Mesa’s Kyle Kemper.

Honorable mention: Camarillo’s Ryan Pettit, Brent Stevens and Kyle Villa; and Jeff Espinoza, Elijah Ontiveros, Eric Ramirez and Alex Torres of Rio Mesa.


Danny Reilly of Camarillo is the PVL’s Most Valuable Player in boys’ volleyball.

First team: Camarillo’s Jesse Flitt, Jose Rojas, Evan Yoshimoto and Christian Van Ouwerkerk; and Danny Aguilar and John Liporada of Rio Mesa.

Second team: Camarillo’s JT McGinley and Shaun York; and Andrew Araiza and Sean Bisnett of Rio Mesa.

Honorable mention: Camarillo’s Richard Martin and Owen Yoshimoto; and Frank Fassl of Rio Mesa.


Joey Sander of Camarillo is the Player of the Year in boys’ tennis.

First team: Camarillo’s Justin Anderson, Westin Byerly, Corey Karen and Bret Meier; and Rio Mesa’s Sam Birns.

Second team: Camarillo’s Eric Chen, Shan Tambat and Kenny Wang; and Daniel Balderrama and Kyle Crocket of Rio Mesa.

Honorable mention: Camarillo’s Matt Haney, David Li and Sebastian Swietlow, and Rio Mesa’s Kyle Crier and Alec Branch.


Chad McLay of Rio Mesa was the boys’ golf league champion.

First team: Camarillo’s Joseph Ahn, Bryce Haynes and Johnny Ruiz.

Second team: Rio Mesa’s Blair Benchwick, David Harada and Kyle McLay.


Girls’ individual track and field champions: 800, Rocki Lambdin, Camarillo, 2:25.32; 1,600, Rocki Lambdin, 5:14.44; 3,200, Rachel Naumann, Camarillo, 11:39.81; 100 hurdles, Kelsea Swan, Rio Mesa, 16.42; 4×400 relay, Christine Hu, Taeylr Finfrock, Rocki Lambdin and Taylor Paschen, Camarillo, 4:11.98; high jump, Raegan Nizdil, Rio Mesa, 5-4; shot put, Dynn Leaupepe, Camarillo, 40-6.


Boys’ individual track and field champions: 100, Blake Selig, Rio Mesa, 10.73; 200, Blake Selig, Rio Mesa, 21.93; 400, LaDarrin Roach, Rio Mesa, 50.37; 800, Erik Pinuelas, Camarillo, 1:57.06; 1,600, Erik Pinuelas, Camarillo, 4:29.65; 3,200, Heyden Wooff, Camarillo, 9:26.03; 4×100 relay, Marcus Alford, LaDarrin Roach, Blake Selig and Cameron Roach, Rio Mesa, 41.13; 4×400 relay, Darion Zimmerman, Cameron Roach, Drew Weisenberger, LaDarrin Roach, Rio Mesa, 3:25.96; long jump, Blake Selig, Rio Mesa, 22-2; triple jump, Tyler Brown, Camarillo, 41-8 3/4; high jump, Philip Pizzo, Camarillo, 6-0; shot put, Evan Benson, Camarillo, 48-6 1/2; discus, Christian McNair, Rio Mesa, 153-6.


Girls’ swimming individual champions: 200 medley relay, Kaleigh Smith, Jessica Craig, Hanalei Santos and Alicia Lewsadder, Camarillo, 1:57.9; 200 IM, Gretchen Plander, Rio Mesa, 2:22.5; 50 freestyle, Alicia Lewsadder, Camarillo, 25.02; 100 butterfly, Alicia Lewsadder, Camarillo, 59.51; 100 freestyle, Kaleigh Smith, Camarillo, 54.54; 200 freestyle relay, Kiersa Polley, Anna Petrinec, Rebecca Gregg and Alicia Lewsadder, Camarillo, 1:45.17; 100 backstroke, Kaleigh Smith, Camarillo, 1:00.99; 100 breaststroke, Jessica Craig, Camarillo, 1:14.51; 400 freestyle relay, Anna Petrinec, Kiersa Polley, Rebecca Gregg and Kaleigh Smith, Camarillo, 3:49.33; 1-meter dive, Rachel Kromka, Rio Mesa, 300.15.


Boys’ swimming individual champions: 200 medley relay, Caulin Silber, Kyle Walthall, Nick Vallejo and Cliff Jeffrey, Rio Mesa,

Share this post with your friends

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email