Rio’s Anguiano wins Pacific View League crown

Marcus Anguiano, headshot.
Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Marcus Anguiano
Marcus Anguiano

A week ago, senior heavyweight Marcus Anguiano from Rio Mesa High was wrestling with the junior varsity squad.

After pinning Miguel De La Cruz from Channel Islands with 55 seconds remaining in the third period, he’s now a Pacific View League wrestling champion.

“It’s great having this feeling right now,” Anguiano said. “I feel so happy, a lot of people didn’t believe I was going to get this far. I believed I could get here, but I was scared.”

Anguiano is just one of the five wrestlers from Rio Mesa, and one of 14 overall wrestlers Saturday night to be named champions at the Pacific View Championships at the Camarillo High gym.

In the third matchup of the evening in the 121-pound weight class, sophomore Drayven Ontiveros opened up the successful ways for Rio Mesa, with a speedy tempo.

“I wrestled quickly because I wanted to get it over with fast,” Ontiveros said. “But it feels good to be here and win.”

This was Ontivero’s first trip to the finals, as he was academically ineligible

last season.

Of the first eight matches of the night, none were won by pin, until senior Andrew Gonzalez from Oxnard High School stepped onto the mat.

He made quick business of his opponent Aaron Largey from Rio Mesa, recording the pin 34 seconds into the second period.

“He’s not that bad on his feet so I knew I was going to have to be real tactical,” Gonzalez said. “I saw my opening and I took it.”

Later in the night, senior Matt Schwartz, in the 171-pound weight class, outmuscled Kody Herman from Rio Mesa to win by decision, 11-2.

“I knew I had strength, so I wanted to get him to stand up with me,” Schwartz said. “I think I had a little bit more cardio than him because I’m smaller than he is.”

Other winners, included Patrick Vitug (105), Pacifica; Daniel Kobako (114), Camarillo; Darrin Salazar (127), Rio Mesa; Adrian Maganna (132), Oxnard; Sergio Camacho (137), Oxnard; Adriann Herreraz (142), Pacifica; Matt Hickman (152), Camarillo; David Medina (160), Channel Islands; Joseph Ramirez (189), Rio Mesa; and Ramon Martinez (215), Rio Mesa.

Hickman is a returning state finalist.

Share this post with your friends

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email