Law Enforcement Academy Graduation

Law Academy Graduation.
Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin

© Tiffany israel/OUHSD
Dick Jaquez, Vice-President OUHSD Board of Trustees hands Pacifica High School student, Ricard Ceja his certificate at the OUHSD Law Enforcement Academy May 2011 gradation ceromony. © Tiffany israel/OUHSD

On Tuesday, May 25, 2011, parents and friends gathered to congratulate the Class of 2011 Community Law Enforcement Academy graduates from Channel Islands High School, Frontier High School, Hueneme High School, Oxnard High School and Pacifica High School. The Community Law Enforcement Academy for Young Adults (Youth Academy) was established in March 1999 as a partnership between the Oxnard Police Department and the Oxnard Union High School District.

The 60-hour program is designed to provide youth with an insight to the law enforcement profession. Students learn about such topics as the history of law enforcement, the criminal justice system, ethics, and conflict resolution. The students are also exposed to various units within the police department including SWAT, K-9, Traffic, Crime Scene Investigations, and Police Activities League. Upon successful completion of the program, the students earn high school credits. Some graduates have gone to pursue successful careers in law enforcement.

Special thank you to those in who assisted with the graduation ceremony and continue to support the academy: Dick Jaquez, Vice-President OUHSD Board of Trustees, Bill Dabbs, Assistant Superintendent, Phyllis Throckmorton, Director CTE, Cecilia Tamayo, Director’s Secretary CTE, Rodney Whitney, OPD Commander, Tenille Chacon, OPD School Resource Officer, Ken Koplan, Sergeant, and the Youth Academy Instructors.

Graduating Class 2011-1 include:

  • Channel Islands High School: Daniel Corres, David Hernandez, Max Ibarra, Ben Navarro, Rodrigo Navarro, Victor Simental
  • Frontier High School: Ismael Flores, Octavio Hernandez, Edith Martinez, Erika Vences
  • Hueneme High School: Edgar Simental
  • Oxnard High School: Steven Cobos, Kendra Dawson, Chris Garza, Ricardo Lopez, Justin Malarwitz, Jason McCarthy
  • Pacifica High School: Vanessa Alvarado, Alberto Arroyo, Julio Muralles, Eduardo Silva, Ricardo Ceja

Share this post with your friends

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email