Skip To Main Content

Board Members

Board Member Elizabeth Botello

Elizabeth M. Botello, M.J. & M.Ed.
Trustee Area 1


Term: November 2020 – November 2024
First Elected: November 2020

Elected to the board in 2020 Ms. Botello is an educator and administrator. She currently is an Assistant Principal at Ventura High School.  She was previously the ASB Director, Journalism Advisor and an English teacher at Oxnard High School.  

Raised in Southern California, Ms. Botello has taught in Orange, LA, and Ventura County.  She graduated with two bachelor’s degrees and her teaching credential from UC Irvine, a master’s degree in journalism from UC Berkeley, and a master’s degree in education with administrative credential from UCLA’s Principal Leadership Institute.

Board Member Steve Hall

Dr. Steve Hall
Vice President
Trustee Area 5

Term: November 2020 – November 2024
First Elected: November 2012

Dr. Hall was first elected to the board in 2012.  An educator for more than thirty years, he has served in a variety of roles at Oxnard Community College including math professor, department chair, Dean, and President of the Ventura County Federation of College Teachers.  Currently, Dr. Hall serves as the Dean of Public Safety programs at Oxnard College.

Genevieve Flores-Haro - Board Member

Genevieve Flores-Haro
Trustee Area 4

Term: November 2022 - November 2026
First Elected: November 2022

Mrs. Flores-Haro was elected to the Board in 2022. She is the daughter of longtime educators, an Oxnard High School graduate, and a former OUHSD ParaEducator. She is the Associate Director for the Mixteco/Indigena Community Organizing Project (MICOP), a nonprofit serving the indigenous migrant community in California’s Central Coast. A two-time California Woman of the Year, Mrs. Flores-Haro received her Bachelor’s degree in Psychology and her Master’s in Public Administration from the University of Southern California. 

Board Member Karen Sher

Karen M. Sher
Trustee Area 3
Term: November 2022 – November 2026
First Elected: November 2014

President Sher was first elected to serve as an Oxnard Union High School District Trustee in 2014. An ACHS Scorpion-proud and RCHS Monarch-proud mom of three, she earned Master’s Degrees in Developmental Reading and Instructional Leadership, a CSBA Masters in Governance, and is currently pursuing her doctorate at the University of Southern California. After serving as a public school teacher for 30 years, Trustee Sher now serves as Director of Teacher Recruitment for the California Department of Education, and as a consultant to State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond. She also serves as an Assembly Delegate to the National Education Association and the California Teachers Association, as a Teacher Leader for UCSB’s South Coast Writing Project, Stanford University’s Instructional Leadership Corps CTA’s Institute for Teaching, and the United States Library of Congress.

Linda Baker Torres - Board Member

Linda Baker Torres
Trustee Area 2

Term: November 2022 - November 2026
First Elected: November 2022

Linda Baker-Torres was elected to the board in 2022 after 40 years of service to the OUHSD as an interpreter for the deaf and hard of hearing at Rio Mesa High School.  Linda takes great pride in the many roles she played at Rio Mesa: ParaEducator, wife to a Rio Mesa teacher and coach, and a mom of 3 Spartan graduates - two of whom became public school teachers! Linda also served as the Vice President of the Oxnard Federation of Teachers and School Employees. As a Trustee, Linda is eager to elevate the voices of and to support all stakeholders in the OUHSD community.

Harnoor Singh Student Representative

Harnoor Singh
Student Trustee 
Senior- Rio Mesa High School


Term: August 2023 – June 2024
First Elected: May 2023